BASIC STRUCTURE OF THE

KANSAS REPUBLICAN PARTY

<u>VOTERS:</u> When voters register they have the choice to affiliate with a political party. About 775,000 Kansans have chosen to affiliate the Kansas Republican Party and are the party members.

PRECINCTS:

- By law, Kansas is divided into thousands of administrative voting districts called precincts. Precincts are not based on population and range from 0 registered voters to around 2,500 voters.
- During the biannual primary election in August, the registered Republican voters in each precinct elect one precinct committeeman and one precinct committeewoman (a/k/a "precinct leaders").
- Vacancies in precinct positions may be filled by the county party chair.
- In the event that an elected partisan state legislative or county office becomes vacant, the precinct leaders from that district will meet and elect a replacement.

COUNTY PARTY:

- Every two years, between the primary election and 2 weeks after the general election, all the precinct committee people in the county as a body they are called the county party, or central committee hold a meeting for two purposes:
 - elect officers for the county party: a chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer. Each of the 105 counties in Kansas has an active county party.
 - elect county delegates to the Congressional District Committee. Each county has two automatic delegates, its chair and vice chair. Additional delegates are awarded based on the total number of republican votes from the county in the last primary election. While most counties have only 2 delegates, large counties like Sedgwick and Johnson have dozens of county delegates.
- Each county party is responsible for recruiting, advising, and supporting county-level candidates and supporting all other Republican candidates whose district includes all or part of the county.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT COMMITTEE:

- The county delegates from each of the four Congressional Districts will assemble in four different district meetings, in December or January following a general election for two purposes:
 - elect four officers (chair, vice-chair, secretary, and treasurer)
 - elect 37 delegates and 37 alternate delegates to the state committee.
- In Presidential election years, the District Committee also elects three delegates and three alternate delegates to the Republican National Convention.

• In the event a U.S. Representative's office becomes vacant, the District Committee will meet and select the Republican candidate for the special election to fill the vacancy.

STATE COMMITTEE:

- The state committee currently has 182 members. It consists of the 37 delegates from each congressional district, the chair and vice-chair of each district, the six state party officers, key elected officials and leaders of republican affiliated groups. The State Committee meets at least twice a year.
- Every two years in spring, following a general election, the newly elected state committee delegates elect new state party officers a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and treasurer.
- During the first meeting in a Presidential election year, the state committee elects a National Committeeman and Committeewoman, who take office immediately after the national republican convention.
- The state committee approves resolutions, sets policy, changes to the state party constitution and by-laws, and approves a party platform every two years.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: The Executive committee has 40 members and is made up of the party officers, elected officials, leaders of republican affiliated groups, and some appointed individuals. The Executive Committee meets at State Committee meetings and by phone several times a year. Budgetary and administrative supervision are tasked to the executive committee.

STATE PARTY OFFICERS: There are six party officers: The Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer, elected every two years, and he National Committeeman and Women, elected every four years. The Chair may hire an executive director and other paid staff with the approval of the Executive Committee. Currently the party has two staff.

REPUBLICAN HOUSE CAMPAIGN COMMITTEE (RHCC) AND KANSAS REPUBLICAN SENATORIAL COMMITTEE (KRSC): These are special party organizations composed of Republican state Representatives and Senators. The role of the these organizations is to recruit, advise, and support Republican candidates for the Kansas House and Senate. The Representatives and Senators elect the leadership for each organization.

REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE (RNC): The RNC consists of 168 members from the 50 states and 6 territories. Each state has three members- its chair, national committeeman and national committeewoman. It meets three to four times a year at various locations around the country. The RNC elects officers, its members also serve on several standing committees, and it maintains a large staff. Every four years it organizes a national Republican Convention to which each state is allocated a certain number of delegates- 3 per congressional district, plus 10 from each state, plus bonus delegates based on how republican the state is.